top of page
Game Developers

CompTIA IT Fundamentals+ (FCO-U61)

CompTIA (Computing Technology Industry Association) offers a range of certifications that are highly regarded in the IT industry. These certifications cover various technology-related skills and are designed to validate the expertise of IT professionals. As of my last update in January 2022, here are some of the key CompTIA certifications:

  1. CompTIA IT Fundamentals (ITF+): This certification is ideal for individuals who are new to IT. It covers essential IT skills and helps beginners understand the basics of IT, including hardware, software, networking, and security.

  2. CompTIA A+: A+ certification is for entry-level IT technicians. It covers topics related to hardware, operating systems, networking, security, and troubleshooting. A+ is a widely recognized certification for technical support and IT operational roles.

  3. CompTIA Network+: Network+ certification is for professionals who work in IT networking roles. It covers networking concepts, infrastructure, network operations, security, and troubleshooting.

  4. CompTIA Security+: Security+ certification is for IT professionals specializing in cybersecurity. It validates knowledge and skills in areas such as network security, compliance, threats, vulnerabilities, access control, and cryptography.

  5. CompTIA Linux+: Linux+ certification is for IT professionals who work with Linux operating systems. It covers Linux administration, security, and troubleshooting.

  6. CompTIA Cloud+: Cloud+ certification is for IT professionals working in cloud technologies. It covers cloud models, virtualization, infrastructure, security, and resource management.

  7. CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+): CySA+ certification focuses on cybersecurity analytics and helps professionals perform data analysis, threat detection, and respond to cybersecurity threats.

  8. CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+): CASP+ certification is an advanced-level certification that validates expertise in enterprise security, risk management, and advanced security solutions.

It's important to note that CompTIA certifications are typically valid for three years. To maintain certification, individuals can participate in CompTIA's Continuing Education (CE) program, which allows them to earn CEUs (Continuing Education Units) by participating in various activities such as training, attending conferences, and writing articles.


Self-Study Course Includes:

Books: a $75 value

Videos: a $250 value

Practice Test by MeasureUp: a $100 value

Training Lab: a $75 value


With CertPREP, you get all this and
more for just
$199.00. Get started today!


IT Fundamentals+ (FCO-U61)

Part 1: Domain 1.0 – IT Concepts and Terminology

  • Lesson 2: How Computers Store Data: Notational Systems

  • Lesson 3: Compare and Contrast Fundamental Data Types and Their Characteristics

  • Lesson 4: Input, Output, and More: The Basic of Computing and Processing

  • Lesson 5: Explain the Value of Data and Information

  • Lesson 6: Common Units of Measure: Storage, Throughput, and Speed

  • Lesson 7: Explain the Troubleshooting Methodology

Part 2: Domain 2.0 - Infrastructure

  • Lesson 8: I/O: Input/Output Device Interfaces

  • Lesson 9: Connecting and Configuring Peripherals

  • Lesson 10: Explain the Purpose of Common Internal Computer Components

  • Lesson 11: Internet Service Types

  • Lesson 12: Compare and Contrast Storage Types

  • Lesson 13: Compare and Contrast Common Computing Devices and Their Purpose

  • Lesson 14: Explain Basic Networking Concepts

  • Lesson 15: Given a Scenario, Install, Configure, and Secure a Basic Wireless Network

Part 3: Domain 3.0 – Applications and Software

  • Lesson 16: Explain the Purpose of Operating Systems

  • Lesson 17: Operating Systems 101: Features, Processes, UI, and Management

  • Lesson 18: Purpose and Proper Use of Software

  • Lesson 19: Getting Apps From Source to Your Device

  • Lesson 20: Configuring and Using Web Browsers

  • Lesson 21: Compare and Contrast General Application Concepts and Uses

Part 4: Domain 4.0 – Software Development Concepts

  • Lesson 22: Compare and Contrast Programming Language Categories

  • Lesson 23: Using Programming Organizational Techniques and Interpret Logic

  • Lesson 24: Explain the Purpose and Use of Programming Concepts

Part 5: Domain 5.0 – Database Fundamentals

  • Lesson 25: Explain Database Concepts and the Purpose of a Database

  • Lesson 26: Compare and Contrast Various Database Structures

  • Lesson 27: Summarize Methods Used to Interface with Databases

Part 6: Domain 6.0 – Security

  • Lesson 28: Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability Concerns

  • Lesson 29: Device Security Best Practices

  • Lesson 30: Summarize Behavioral Security Concepts

  • Lesson 31: Compare and Contrast Authentication, Authorization, Accounting, and Non-Repudiation

  • Lesson 32: Explain Password Best Practices

  • Lesson 33: Explain Common Uses of Encryption

  • Lesson 34: Explain Business Continuity Concepts

bottom of page