top of page
Game Developers

CompTIA Security+ (SYO 601)

CompTIA (Computing Technology Industry Association) offers a range of certifications that are highly regarded in the IT industry. These certifications cover various technology-related skills and are designed to validate the expertise of IT professionals. As of my last update in January 2022, here are some of the key CompTIA certifications:

  1. CompTIA IT Fundamentals (ITF+): This certification is ideal for individuals who are new to IT. It covers essential IT skills and helps beginners understand the basics of IT, including hardware, software, networking, and security.

  2. CompTIA A+: A+ certification is for entry-level IT technicians. It covers topics related to hardware, operating systems, networking, security, and troubleshooting. A+ is a widely recognized certification for technical support and IT operational roles.

  3. CompTIA Network+: Network+ certification is for professionals who work in IT networking roles. It covers networking concepts, infrastructure, network operations, security, and troubleshooting.

  4. CompTIA Security+: Security+ certification is for IT professionals specializing in cybersecurity. It validates knowledge and skills in areas such as network security, compliance, threats, vulnerabilities, access control, and cryptography.

  5. CompTIA Linux+: Linux+ certification is for IT professionals who work with Linux operating systems. It covers Linux administration, security, and troubleshooting.

  6. CompTIA Cloud+: Cloud+ certification is for IT professionals working in cloud technologies. It covers cloud models, virtualization, infrastructure, security, and resource management.

  7. CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+): CySA+ certification focuses on cybersecurity analytics and helps professionals perform data analysis, threat detection, and respond to cybersecurity threats.

  8. CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+): CASP+ certification is an advanced-level certification that validates expertise in enterprise security, risk management, and advanced security solutions.

It's important to note that CompTIA certifications are typically valid for three years. To maintain certification, individuals can participate in CompTIA's Continuing Education (CE) program, which allows them to earn CEUs (Continuing Education Units) by participating in various activities such as training, attending conferences, and writing articles.


Self-Study Course Includes:

Books: a $75 value

Videos: a $250 value

Practice Test by MeasureUp: a $100 value

Training Lab: a $75 value


With CertPREP, you get all this and
more for just
$199.00. Get started today!


Security+ (SYO-601)

Part 1: Threats, Attacks, and Vulnerabilities

  • Lesson 1: Comparing and Contrasting Different Types of Social Engineering Techniques

  • Lesson 2: Analyzing Potential Indicators to Determine the Type of Attack

  • Lesson 3: Analyzing Potential Indicators Associated with Application Attacks

  • Lesson 4: Analyzing Potential Indicators Associated with Network Attacks

  • Lesson 5: Understanding Different Threat Actors, Vectors and Intelligence Sources

  • Lesson 6: Understanding the Security Concerns Associated with Various types of Vulnerabilities

  • Lesson 7: Summarizing the Techniques Used in Security Assessments

  • Lesson 8: Understanding the Techniques Used in Penetration Testing

Part 2: Architecture and Design

  • Lesson 9: Understanding the Importance of Security Concepts in an Enterprise Environment

  • Lesson 10: Summarizing Virtualization and Cloud Computing Concepts

  • Lesson 11: Summarizing Secure Application Development, Deployment, and Automation Concepts

  • Lesson 12: Summarizing Authentication and Authorization Design Concepts

  • Lesson 13: Implementing Cybersecurity Resilience

  • Lesson 14: Understanding the Security Implications of Embedded and Specialized Systems

  • Lesson 15: Understanding the Importance of Physical Security Controls

  • Lesson 16: Summarizing the Basics of Cryptographic Concepts

Part 3: Implementation

  • Lesson 17: Implementing Secure Protocols

  • Lesson 18: Implementing Host or Application Security Solutions

  • Lesson 19: Implementing Secure Network Designs

  • Lesson 20: Installing and Configuring Wireless Security Settings

  • Lesson 21: Implementing Secure Mobile Solutions

  • Lesson 22: Applying Cybersecurity Solutions to the Cloud

  • Lesson 23: Implementing Identity and Account Management Controls

  • Lesson 24: Implementing Authentications and Authorization Solutions

  • Lesson 25: Implementing Public Key Infrastructure

Part 4: Operations and Incident Response

  • Lesson 26: Using the Appropriate Tools to Assess Organizational Security

  • Lesson 27: Summarizing the Importance of Policies, Processes, and Procedures for Incident Response

  • Lesson 28: Using Appropriate Data Sources to Support an Investigation

  • Lesson 29: Applying Mitigation Techniques or Controls to Secure an Environment

  • Lesson 30: Understanding the Key Aspects of Digital Forensics

Part 5: Governance, Risk, and Compliance

  • Lesson 31: Comparing and Contrasting the Various Types of Controls

  • Lesson 32: Understanding the Importance of Applicable Regulations, Standards, or Frameworks That Impact Organizational Security Posture

  • Lesson 33: Understanding the Importance of Policies to Organizational Security

  • Lesson 34: Summarizing Risk Management Processes and Concepts

  • Lesson 35: Understanding Privacy and Sensitive Data Concepts in Relation to Security

bottom of page